Author Topic: Other Defensive Items and Techniques.  (Read 385 times)

Nathine

• View Profile
Other Defensive Items and Techniques.
« on: September 20, 2016, 12:50:38 PM »
Hi, I am an NRA certified instructor, The Well Armed Women Certified Instructor, AZ Dept of Public Safety certified Firearms instructor and a Federal Officer. If the local AZ chapter is interested, I am willing to teach. I am not sure how the local Valley of the Sun Chapter will contact me but await contact.

There are numerous techniques and applications that can be used, from car keys, to pepper spray. Batons are now becoming illegal in some jurisdictions as they are perceived as an offensive weapon, other areas don't care. They are also becoming hard to acquire and limited to law enforcement.
More than happy to discuss or teach.

nicki

• View Profile
Re: Other Defensive Items and Techniques.
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2016, 04:09:26 PM »
Something all of us should consider is having what I call for lack of a better term, a "self defense system" that is "Brain Centric" rather than "specific tool" centric.

There has been much effort nationwide on gun laws to make the laws/rules on carrying guns more straightforward and on statewide levels, relatively uniform throughout a state. Many states have "Pre emption".

On arms other than guns however, things can go sideways, especially with edged arms and/or martial arts type arms.

Biggest problem I see is that many states don't have statewide pre emption, so even if you are in compliance with state law, you could unknowingly be violated some country or city ordinance.

I reside in California and statewide laws on knives for example aren't too horrible, but where you get into trouble is in the local areas.